In this article:
In Businessmap, you have the option to either archive boards that you no longer need to work on, or permanently delete them. Here is how to do that!
1. How to Archive a Board?
To be able to archive boards, you need to be an Account Owner or have the Workspace Manager role. To archive a board, navigate to your Home Dashboard (the All Workspaces button), and find the workspace where the board is. Click the three-dot icon in the upper right corner of the respective board, and select Archive. When you archive a board, you will no longer see it in the dashboard.
All archived boards are stored in the Archived Workspaces and Boards panel in your account.
Note: When you archive a board, the system will notify you if there are any unfinished cards on it. All cards located in the “Backlog,” “Requested,” and “In Progress” sections are considered not finished.
To access the Archived Workspaces and Boards panel, go to the Home Dashboard (the All workspaces button in the upper left corner) of your account and click the archive button next to My Workspaces as shown in the image below.
The Archive stores all boards that you have archived, displayed in a Table format. It contains the following information per board: Workspace name, Board name, Archived by, and Archived at.
2. How to Unarchive a Board?
To unarchive a board and make it available on your dashboard, open the Archived Workspaces and Boards panel, locate the respective board, click on the three-dot menu, and select Unarchive (see image above). You can use the filter to quickly locate the board.
Unarchiving a board will restore it in the Workspace from which it was archived.
3. How to Permanently Delete a Board?
You have to be either an Account Owner or a Workspace Manager to be able to delete boards within a Workspace.
There is a separate permission in the Security Controls panel (in the account Administration) that can enable only Account Owners to delete workspaces and boards:
- Only Account Owners can delete workspaces and boards — If disabled, Workspace Managers will be able to delete the boards that they are assigned to.
To permanently delete a board after you have archived it, you have to access the Archived Workspaces and Boards panel. You can use the filter to find the respective board. Just click the three-dot menu and select Delete to permanently erase it.
Important: If you delete a board, there is no way to retrieve it for the account.
You can learn more about archiving a workspace here.